Upcoming Elections for the GSA

Notice to Graduate Students!

It’s election season!  Below you will find a list of candidates for several positions on the GSA Executive and Board.

The GSA By-Law on Elections (3.1) does not specify the procedure to follow when there is only one candidate nominated for a position in the spring election.  Therefore, as Chief Returning Officer (CRO), I have elected to follow the procedure for fall elections and forego any voting for those positions.

As there is only one contended position, that of President, it will be the only one that will appear on a ballot.

Below you will find a list of all candidates, by position. Each candidate has provided a short biography for your information.

The candidates for President will have a three week campaign period, beginning Monday, April 3, 2017. All campaigning must cease by midnight Sunday, April 23, 2017.

The election will take place Monday, April 24 and Tuesday, April 25, 2017 via campus login.

If you have any concerns or questions about these procedures, please do not hesitate to contact me. I can be reached via email vcampbell@upei.ca or cell 902-313-0059.

Valerie Campbell, PhD Candidate (Educational Studies)

Chief Returning Officer 2017

CANDIDATE LIST – GSA EXECUTIVE/BOARD ELECTIONS 

SPRING 2017

President

Brittany Jakubiec: I am a second-year student in the PhD in Educational Studies program at UPEI.  For my dissertation research, I will be investigating how young women in Atlantic Canada theorize gender identity.  Outside of UPEI, I am the mother to a funny and loving 6-year-old boy named Kaden.  I volunteer at his school for the breakfast program and for the local Canadian Parents for French (PEI) chapter.  I have a lot of experience volunteering with various organizations, and believe that due to this experience, I have learned how to work with others, how to plan and execute events, and to communicate with the organization’s membership.  In the case of the UPEI Graduate Students’ Association, I feel as though my past leadership experience will be of great help if I were to be elected president for the 2017–18 academic year.  I am passionate about the graduate student experience at UPEI and would be very happy to serve in the volunteer position of President of the GSA.

I want the GSA to be regarded as valuable and to be invited to take part in important discussions regarding university affairs.  I also believe in the power of the GSA to advocate on behalf of students when issues arise.  I would like to see more social events and activities for graduate students, so that we can get to know one another, share experiences, and provide support.  However, the GSA is what the membership wants it to be.  In my role as president, I will work collaboratively with my executive team and the board to ensure that your concerns are being heard and addressed, and that the direction of the GSA is set forth by you all.

 

Zhengyu Liu:  I enrolled in UPEI in September, 2016. My major is Master of Education in Leadership in Learning. I received my bachelor degree in Food Science & Engineering from Northwest University in China. Currently, I am a research assistant of inquiry studies in UPEI.

I participated in many academic activities, such as Edcamp Conference, a graduate student’ thesis defense. I am also a member of Global Pathway Committee and UPEI Graduate Students’ Association. Recently, I received an International Continuing Excellence Award from UPEI.

I attended the National Lobby Week from February 6 to February 8 in Ottawa, invited by Canadian Federation of Students. I had meetings with four MPs and one Senator. I talked about issues facing post-secondary students with them, particularly in high tuitions, and lay out our recommendations when it comes to federal policy. As an international student, I held the opinion that high international student fees do not benefit domestic students: Schools need to survive, and each school can only accept a certain amount of students depending on their facilities, staff, and area. If they do not have enough funding from the government, school leaders may prefer to accept more international students rather than domestic students. When the offer letter based on funding rather than students’ learning ability, it would lower the universities’ academic achievement in total. As a graduate student, I talked to MPs of the poor research funding and limited job prospects for our young researchers. After attended the meetings, I decided running for President position because I want to solve the issues facing graduate students and make graduate students’ voice stronger.

I also did many volunteer works. I participated in a “Train the Trainer Workshop” at PEI Association for Newcomers to Canada. As a volunteer, my work is to spread out the knowledge of “911, Policing, Highway Safety, Fire, and EMS on PEI” for newcomers. I also volunteered in after school program at St. Felix Centre and Yong Hui Chinese School.

Executive Vice-President

Dylan Michaud: I have been nominated for the position of Executive Vice-President within the Graduate Students’ Association (GSA). I am a second year Masters of Science student at the Atlantic Veterinary College researching the genetics, and more specifically the sex differences of a marine parasite.

The GSA is a valuable platform which advocates on behalf of the UPEI/AVC graduate student body, however in order for the GSA to be effective it requires a strong cohesive relationship with the graduate student body. Without graduate student involvement and feedback it is difficult to ensure advocacy will be effective and representative of the student body’s entirety. Therefore I believe it is vital for the GSA’s next steps be to focus on driving additional initiatives into graduate student; involvement, feedback and inclusiveness in order to ensure manageable and effective initiatives are pursued.

The GSA is a platform which can only be successful with the aid of graduate student input and involvement, so please do not hesitate to contact the GSA at gsa@upei.ca with any inquires and/or comments.

Vice President – Finance

Leon Liang: I am a second year PhD student in the Chemistry department. I first came to UPEI from China as an exchange student in 2013 for my undergraduate studies. I transferred to UPEI afterwards to finish my bachelor’s degree and now am pursuing the PhD degree. As an international student at UPEI, I can communicate well with students from different countries and various backgrounds. I have served at GSA since Sept. 2015 as an international student representative. I participated in Canadian Federation of Students Annual General Meeting in 2016 as a delegate for UPEI GSA. My goal in the GSA is to address the needs of different students by connecting them with resources and promote interaction among my fellow graduate students. I am a good listener and if you have any suggestion or concern, feel free to communicate with me. My email address is liliang@upei.ca.

 

AVC Representative (2 positions)

Logan MacIntyre: I am a second-year PhD student in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at the AVC. I have held the position of AVC Representative for two terms and hope to be elected for a third. During my tenure of this position, I maintained a high level of involvement in the GSA and the university community at large by helping to organize events, regularly attending GSA board meetings, sitting on the AVC Graduate Studies and Research Committee, etc. I intend to build on these habits/commitments in the coming years and I believe that my current position with the GSA is the best way for me to do so. Please feel free to write to me with questions at lwmacintyre@upei.ca.

 

Jamye Rouette: I am from Montreal, but have lived on PEI since September 2012. I graduated from UPEI in May 2016, Bachelors in Science, Majored in Environmental Biology, minored in Environmental Studies. I am now doing my masters at AVC in the department of Health Management. My project involves looking at risk factors for injuries experienced by the racehorses on the Island.

During my undergrad I sat on the executive committees for the Biology Society (treasurer), Pre-Vet Society (treasurer), Environmental Society (Secretary), I was a New Student Orientation leader for three years, and was the Treasurer for the Grad Class Executive 2016. I really enjoy planning events and being organized. I also really love horses and birds!

Science Representative

Rosemarie Dale: I am in the first year of my master’s program in the science department, specifically the environmental science stream. My project is adjunct with Agriculture Canada. I want to run for science representative mainly to become more involved in the GSA and to help voice concerns/needs of grad students, and hopefully help put those concerns into actions to help improve graduate student life at UPEI.

Post-doc Representative

Ravinder Sappal: I am a Postdoctoral fellow in Dept of Biomedical Sciences, AVC. Originally I am a vet from India and graduated with a PhD (Dept. of Path-Micro, AVC) from UPEI. My research areas include Fish Physiology, Aquatic Toxicology and Mitochondrial Bioenergetics. I have been involved in GSA and other volunteering activities throughout my graduate program. This year I opted to be postdoc’s voice in GSA, with hope to bring some positive changes for the fellows of UPEI.

Leave a Reply

